The Different Types of Bankruptcies

There are several different types of bankruptcies as defined within the US Bankruptcy Code. While the bankruptcy litigation experts of Todd Cushner & Associates specialize in Chapter 7, 11, and 13 bankruptcies, this article will provide you with general information about all types.

What Are the Different Types of Bankruptcies?

There are different types of bankruptcies, which are usually referred to by their chapter in the U.S. Bankruptcy Code.

  • Individuals may file Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcy, depending on the specifics of their situation.
  • Municipalities—cities, towns, villages, taxing districts, municipal utilities, and school districts may file under Chapter 9 to reorganize.
  • Businesses may file bankruptcy under Chapter 7 to liquidate or Chapter 11 to reorganize.
  • Chapter 12 provides debt relief to family farmers and fishermen.
  • Bankruptcy filings that involve parties from more than one country are filed under Chapter 15.

United States Courts

judge's gavel behind a bankruptcy name plate

Bankruptcy Help Is Just a Phone Call Away

At Todd Cushner & Associates, our team is always here to help with your bankruptcy concerns.

This entry was posted in Bankruptcy Protection. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
  • © 2024 Todd Cushner & Associates. All rights reserved.